Smooth Operator…

Recently we have jumped on the smoothie band wagon. After some encouragement from my brother and his girlfriend who were already on the band wagon, we purchased a smoothie maker.

I’m always up for trying to have a healthier diet, without sacrificing too much of the naughty yumminess. Smoothies, particularly green smoothies, are a fantastic way of stuffing yourself with loads of fruit, veg, and superfoods, and that’s just for breakfast!

Avocado

Avocado

You can find loads of smoothie recipes on Pinterest, and this guy in particular really seems to know what he is talking about when it comes to what to put in smoothies, and why these things are good for you.

Using frozen fruits is a good idea, I’ve found pineapple and blueberries to be particullyar yummy. Raspberries are also good and full of flavour but can mean the smoothie has more ‘bits’ to get stuck in your teeth.

Add a touch of cinnamon.

Add a touch of cinnamon.

I try to mix it up a bit but one of my favourite smoothies at the moment is:

Handful of frozen pineapple
Handful of spinach/kale
Some blueberries
One cup of green tea
Half a banana
Quarter of an avocado
Tablespoon of coconut oil
Tablespoon of chia seeds

I make it in the evening, pop it in the fridge, and it’s all ready to go for breakfast the next morning! Just add ice cubes if you don’t have time to put it in the fridge.

Love heart ice cube.

Love heart ice cube.

Chia seeds are great for keeping you full because they are high in fiber and help keep your blood sugar from spiking and dropping. They are also meant to provide you with long lasting energy. I’ve even taken to sprinkling some on the top of a salad.
Lucy Bee coconut oil was a recent addition to my smoothies. This stuff has a long list of things you can use it for. It seems to be some sort of miracle creation. If having it in a smoothie can actually help me lose weight then I’m all for it! It also tastes delish in black coffee. I’m sure I will have more blog posts to come on the uses for this stuff…

Green Smoothies.

Green Smoothies.

Yum.

Yum.

Ahhh blended.

Ahhh blended.

I try to have a smoothie for breakfast about 3-4 times a week. With the added chia seeds I find they actually do fill me up until about midday. It’s amazing how after not having one for a couple of days I actually start to crave one. We went away for a week to Center Parcs a couple of weeks ago (post on that coming soon!) and I found myself missing my morning smoothie.

Breakfast smoothie.

Breakfast smoothie.

Have you tried green smoothies? Please share some of your favourite recipes in the comments!

Leave a Reply

