A Pink Birthday Party, Fit For a Two Year Old…

We recently celebrated our little girl’s 2nd birthday (what?!? I have a 2 year old!!) and threw her a little party at home.

Party tableTempting as it was to go all out on a Peppa Pig Theme after looking up ideas on Pinterest, I didn’t really want to go overboard, so stuck to a pink theme instead. This meant pink paper pom pom decorations, a pink birthday banner, pink lemonade, and even a pink ombre birthday cake.

I loved the idea of the paper pom poms, and although I would have loved to try my hand at making them from scratch, the fact I am currently working full time meant I happily cheated and bought them off eBay.

DecorationsThe paper Happy Birthday bunting was also a quick and easy purchase from Etsy, which I then printed out myself. Easy peasy!

I wanted to incorporate some of the Glass Milk Bottles I had blogged about previously, and so bought some more pretty striped paper straws from Home Bargains and filled a jug with pink lemonade! I also bought some pretty paper cups from Home Bargains too, I can’t believe I have only discovered that magical place recently!

Pink lemonadeIt wouldn’t be a party without chocolate brownies, and the recipe from Hummingbird Bakery always goes down a treat.

BrowniesNow I was tempted to buy Audrey a birthday cake from the Fairy Dust Bakery this year, but then I thought that would make me a terrible mother. I am quite capable of baking a cake, just get on with it. After a loooong search on Pinterest, I decided a pink ombre cake had to be done. I will write a separate blog post on how I made this, and the birthday banner cake topper, so for now I shall just tease you with a couple of photos…

Birthday cakePink ombre cakeNeedless to say, I am pretty proud of how it turned out.

Every kid loves a party, so the only way to really get them out the door happily at the end is with a party bag. I think some of the adults attending were a bit upset that they were only for the children.

CrayonsParty bagsWe had a lovely afternoon, and I think the birthday girl was very happy. Her new favourite phrase is ‘I two!’

Birthday Girl

One thought on “A Pink Birthday Party, Fit For a Two Year Old…

  1. Pingback: How To: Pink Ombre Cake… | Sweetlove Place

Leave a Reply

