DIY Vintage Glass Milk Bottles…

After seeing vintage glass milk bottles popping up all over Pinterest, and being a sucker for pretty things, I had to try my hand at these DIY milk bottles. After having a bit of a Google at how best to do it and stumbling upon this blog post, I though I would give it a go. After all, these seem quite expensive to buy ready-made online, and let’s face it, they’re only going to get used once or twice in my household.

From this, to this!I added a couple of bottles of these Starbucks Frappuccino’s on to our good old Asda delivery (2 for £2- bargain!). Which meant I got to sample a delicious treat before even starting!

FrappuccinoIt was easy enough to scrub off the labels from the glass. I did leave them in to soak for a bit before hand but I don’t think they needed it to be honest. I had even bought acetone to help wipe off the use by date, but this also just came off easily in soapy water.

And voila! That’s all there is to it really. Not much DIY- just a bit of washing up.

I am now sat here sipping cold milk through a (very pretty) straw for the first time in about 25 years. And, um, munching on a choccie biscuit, for the first time in about 25 minutes.

Cold milk.Glass milk bottleThere is something about sipping a drink through a straw that makes it that extra bit special (or is that just me?!). These pink paper straws were bought on eBay.

Of course you are not limited to sipping mere milk out of these. These would be great, and a bit more grown-up, for cocktails in the summer at a garden party. Or could even be used as a pen pot on your desk. I couldn’t resist popping in a beautiful Peony from the garden.

Peony

5 thoughts on “DIY Vintage Glass Milk Bottles…

  1. Pingback: A Pink Birthday Party, Fit For a Two Year Old… | Sweetlove Place

Leave a Reply

